'54 Ford Club of America - Forum

Forum participation is open to the general public. This forum is made possible by dues paid by the members of the 54 Ford Club of America. Therefore we ask that, if you post a car or parts for sale, you join the national club.
It is currently Sat Jul 11, 2020 9:50 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: headlight switch
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 146
Location: Hawthorne, nj
I'm in the process of switching from 6v to 12v and I want to keep it as original as possible. I've been told that the original headlight switch can be used as long as the rheostat is locked in the fully bright position. Any thoughts or suggestions? Thanks. Joe

_________________
Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: headlight switch
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 10:10 pm
Posts: 221
Location: sacramento ,ca
i dont know i burnt mine up when i did my 12v swap so i couldnt tell you but i left my old one in the dash and went to napa and bought the same type double pull universal for 6 bucks and mounted under the dash were it fit in a dime size hole that was already there !just reach at the bottom of the dash and pull down!!it is labled way easier then trying to decifer the stock one !! just a thought !

54mainlinetim!!

_________________
Tim

"What are you talking about ill just swap the todor door body on the driving fordor it'll be easy!"(still not done)!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: headlight switch
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 146
Location: Hawthorne, nj
That is what I'm afraid of, I will have alot of nice new wiring in close proximity to that switch and I don't want a fire. On the other hand, the person who told me this works for one of the major restoration parts suppliers, but I'm still a little hesitant. I would like to hear from someone who did this and hasn't had a problem. I got a Ron Francis kit with his switch and no way will it work without butchering the dash. Thanks. Joe

_________________
Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: headlight switch
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 7:17 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:24 am
Posts: 3643
Location: Upstate,South Carolina
I'm afraid the original switch is going to be the weak link in your wiring,,,I haven't tried to use the old switch myself but if the one supplied with the new wiring is too big I feel sure NAPA makes a smaller one.

The original blade,,on/off knob can usually be used with minor fab work.

_________________
Danny
Site Administrator

I'm from a two tin cans and a string era trying to muddle my way through Cyberspace!

Photos of the Ranch Wagon,, 348 images and the Wagon is finally a driver!
http://public.fotki.com/hotrodprimer/hotrodprimer-1/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: headlight switch
PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:22 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:18 am
Posts: 1064
Location: Midland Park, NJ
I have a stock switch in my car with 12 volts. Never has been a problem. Drive a lot at night. Remember, 12 volt cars use less amperage than the old six volt cars so any 6 volt switch should not be a problem on 12 volts. All my other switches are the old ones with 12 volts and zero problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: headlight switch
PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2008 10:26 pm 
Offline
Club President
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:33 pm
Posts: 3007
Location: Houston
I had a 49 Ford Club Coupe that had all original switches and ran 12 volts. Never had a problem either. (it had the original flatty, but it was hopped up with headers, a cam, a polished aluminum intake, etc....black paint, with red pleated vinyl interior....way cool car)

_________________
Don
President, 54 Ford Club of America

Check out my 54 Ford Project Blog
http://mainlineford.wordpress.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: headlight switch
PostPosted: Tue Aug 12, 2008 7:54 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:24 am
Posts: 3643
Location: Upstate,South Carolina
We started re-wiring in a 57 Chevy pickup with the American autowire kit last night and the first thing I noticed was the poor design of the original switch.

The owner of the pickup wanted to keep the original knobs,,my first job was to release the blade that the knob is attached and I slid a piece of tubing over the blade,clamped the old blade in the vice and after about three sharp blows the knob bounced across the shop floor.

The knob on this truck has a larger opening on the blade side than the blade,,,so I drill the side of the knob,tapped it and used a set screw,,,,presto,,,new switch,,old original look.

This could also be done with JB weld,,I just didn't have any handy,,,this evening before our CLUB MEETING viewtopic.php?f=14&t=151 , I will work on adding the original knob to the new wiper switch.

_________________
Danny
Site Administrator

I'm from a two tin cans and a string era trying to muddle my way through Cyberspace!

Photos of the Ranch Wagon,, 348 images and the Wagon is finally a driver!
http://public.fotki.com/hotrodprimer/hotrodprimer-1/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: headlight switch
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 6:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:49 pm
Posts: 146
Location: Hawthorne, nj
Thanks guys, that was just the feedback I was hoping for. Joe

_________________
Joe


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: headlight switch
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 9:19 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks, I couldn’t decipher what you were all chatting about...12 years ago, great info though. I am rewiring my 54 Mercury Custom 70B, ran into the same issue!

I called Dennis-carpenter.com, they also told me the same thing “if you turn the rheostat to dim, your switch will go bad, otherwise, you should be fine.” I couldn’t get the correct answer from Mac’s.

3-days later and trying to retro everything, isn’t going to work.

Thanks for the post...great website/forum.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: headlight switch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 3:00 am
Posts: 1090
Location: Phoenix,AZ
Meatcheezy wrote:
Thanks, I couldn’t decipher what you were all chatting about...12 years ago, great info though. I am rewiring my 54 Mercury Custom 70B, ran into the same issue!

I called Dennis-carpenter.com, they also told me the same thing “if you turn the rheostat to dim, your switch will go bad, otherwise, you should be fine.” I couldn’t get the correct answer from Mac’s.

3-days later and trying to retro everything, isn’t going to work.

Thanks for the post...great website/forum.
You could use a 1956 switch part # https://cgfordparts.com/ufolder/fordpar ... =B7A-11654 hopefully this picture will post. You can use the '54 shaft and bezel.


Attachments:
rsz_1-oops.jpg
rsz_1-oops.jpg [ 56.03 KiB | Viewed 311 times ]

_________________
Jeff
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group